Women Who Rock: Chrissie Hynde in BlackBook

Posted by Cila Warncke

Chrissie Hynde is a true star; a voice crying in the wilderness of contemporary culture where where Cheryl Cole is a “national treasure” and Britney Spears is a slave. In a just world her interview in the Icons issue of New York style bible BlackBook would be printed in leaflet form and scattered through the streets, or reproduced on billboards in city centres.

Chrissie Hynde (from BlackBook)

Chrissie Hynde (from BlackBook)

The first utterly brilliant quote is her frank analysis of the fucked-up-ed-ness of American consumer culture: “This is why I left the States when I was 22. I saw that I was going to be trapped into buying a car so I could get to work so I could pay for my car.”

Later, she elaborates: “It’s an indignity that one has to become part of a system; it’s forced upon you. And it’s not a good system. It’s an evil system.” Yes sister!

Her comment on relationships is perhaps the most heartening thing I read in 2008: “I don’t think I’ve ever been defined by my relationship with anyone. I just tread my path and stick to the plan. And if anyone wants to come along and be part of it, that’s fine, and if they don’t, fair enough. I’ve never left my philosphy to join someone else’s.

Hear that? That’s what a free woman sounds like.

2 thoughts on “Women Who Rock: Chrissie Hynde in BlackBook

  1. Yeah Chrissie was always her own woman, like Patti Smith – the pair of them gave me hope in the 80s. But why oh why do so many vegetarian anti-consumerist environmentalists smoke? It makes no sense to me (see the second photo). Why talk about anti-violence and then do such violence to yourself?

  2. Pingback: Snipe ‘Everything In Media Isn’t a Downer’ « Cila Warncke

Leave a Reply

